South Africa
Capital: Pretoria
June - September 2001
South Africa 2
Paul Kruger,  Zuid-Afrikannsche Republiek President from 1882 to 1902, year of the victory of the English in the boer war (1898-1902) resulting in the annexion of both boer republics into the South African Union in 1910.Kruger denied citizen rights and vote to the many foreign investors, mainly english, that rushed to  Johannesbourg from 1886 on, when gold mines had been discovered and the town built, leading to the anglo-boer war.
D54-03 D54-04
Church Square, Statue of Paul Kruger
The great Trek: in 1835, 12 to 14 thousands boers, dissatisfied with the english regime left the Cape colony towards noth-east.
They settled in 1854 two boer republics:
The South-African Republic
and the
Free State of Orange.
D54-05 D54-06 D54-07
Voortrekker Monument (1937-1949)
D54-10 D54-09 D54-12
Jardins de l' Union-Building
Union Building: designed in 1910 by Herbet Baker, architect, has been the seat of the new South African Union government. It's here that on the 10th of May 1994 President Nelson Mandela spoke to a crowd of 100 000 South african people.


Parktown some of the houses built as from 1892 by the Rand-Lords, magnates of the gold mines.
D54-13 D54-15 D54-16 D54-17 D54-18
Northwards - 1904 Dolobran - 1905 Hazeldene Hall -1902 The View - 1897 Villa Arcadia  ~ 1900

Rock Ridge Road: "Temporary closed" "Hers is the reign of insecurity. White people install themselves into paranoia: building enclosure walls, barded fences, making use of security guards, retreating in kind of autonomous districts where you need clearance to get in.

The bike: reparing a worm inside the engine. D54-24

Kruger Park:
D51-15 D51-19
D51-25 D51-30 D51-34 D51-36
Crossing Swaziland